In this lesson, you will learn about System Settings. If you want to customize your Mac machine, then these settings are found in System Settings. And System Settings is an app, so you can open it like any other app. For example, it can be in your dock as I have it here, or you can go to Finder, then Applications and open it from this window. Or you can use Spotlight and type System Settings, and hit Enter. So, this is System Settings, and there's so much to do here. It's best to explore all these settings one by one and customize them based on your needs, wants, and preferences. The main window is currently divided into two main sections. The left section contains a scrollable list of settings. When you click on any of these settings, the available detailed settings then shows up on the right section of this window. For example, if I click on Sound, I see all the sound settings. And if I click on General, I see many subtopics which I can enter into. So I'll click on About, and that takes me into more settings. And I can click on the back arrow button to take me back one step backwards. One key distinction to understand is that System Settings have settings for your computer in general, like how to control display settings, battery settings, Bluetooth connectivity settings, and much more. However, each app that you open in your macOS also has another set of settings that are very specific to that app only. For example, if I open TextEdit, and then go to the TextEdit menu, then Settings, I see many settings which are very particular to this app only. So, please be aware of this distinction. System Settings is a system-wide set of settings that we can customize. And in addition, each app on your Mac also has another set of settings that are specific only to that app. All right, back to System Settings again. If I click on the Appearance category, I can see such settings like making the appearance of my computer as light or dark. It's currently set to light. And let me click on dark to show you the difference. I personally prefer the light option, so I will revert it back to light. And if I scroll down on the left side, I get to Desktop & Dock. And then on the right side, I can scroll down until I see the setting for Default Web Browser. The pull-down option shows all the browsers that I have installed on my Mac. And I opted to keep my default web browser as Safari. But this is the option to set and change your preferred web browser. And if you're not sure about a particular setting, you can always click on the question mark at the bottom right corner, and that will open a window explaining all the different settings and their options that appear in this current window. You also might find some settings that are locked and need an admin user's password to unlock it. For example, if I go to the Users & Group settings and click on the Add Account button, I am prompted to enter the admin user password. Therefore, while most settings are open and don't require a password to change them, some sensitive system settings do require an admin password to change them. And one last point about System Settings is that it contains a Migration tool and an Erase Assistant tool. Whenever you are ready to sell your computer to buy a new one, for example, it's suggested that you complete some tasks like sign out of your Apple ID, erase any data, and so on. So if I go to System Settings, then General, then Transfer or Reset. Here, you can use the Migration Assistant tool to help you move data to this Mac from another Mac machine, or vice versa, using a simple wizard. And this window also gives us access to the Erase Assistant. When I click on the Erase All Content and Settings button, the Erase Assistant window opens up, and I'm prompted to enter the admin password. So, I'll type it in. And now it's suggesting that I first back up my Mac because we are erasing it completely. Please make sure you always have a recent backup of your computer. Then I'll click on the Continue button. And you can see that I'm progressing forward with erasing all my data and settings. This task will do several things like sign me out of my Apple ID, remove all my Touch IDs, unpair any Bluetooth devices, as well as turn off location sharing. In short, all settings, media, and data will be erased. So, it's a convenient tool to use instead of having to do all these tasks individually. But since I don't want to do that now, I'll go to the Erase Assistant menu and quit the app. So in this lesson, you learned about System Settings. Thanks for watching. And stay tuned for the next lesson where I will show you backing up your files.